One of the key element of a traditional Hindu Indian wedding is when the bride and groom makes seven steps on the wedding stage, the mandap. In this part of the Hindu Indian wedding ceremony or puja, you and your fiancé will take seven steps together. Each step will be accompanied by a sacred vow and blessings. The ritual is called Saptapadi and derived from the Sanskrit words “Sapta” (meaning seven) and “Padi” (meaning steps). These steps symbolize your journey through the seven stages of life, promising love, companionship, and mutual support.

indian wedding photographers Atlanta

The Saptapadi summarizes the essence of a successful and fulfilling marital journey. This part of the traditional Hindu Indian ceremony symbolizes the journey and unity between you and your fiancée. With each step, you and your fiancée promises to nurture, support, and respect one another, ultimately cementing their bond of love and commitment. In an era where marriages undergo various transformations, the Saptapadi stands as a timeless reminder for both of you of the core values that form the bedrock of a harmonious and prosperous married life.

St Petersburg indian wedding planners

Let me explain the significance of each steps:

Step 1: Commitment to Nourishment and Growth: The first step represents your commitment to nourish each other physically, emotionally, and spiritually, fostering your family’s growth and development.

Step 2: Strength and Prosperity: The second step signifies you and your fiancee’s pledge to support and strengthen each other through life’s challenges, ensuring prosperity and abundance.

Step 3: Commitment to Happiness: The third step symbolizes your shared responsibility to seek joy, harmony, and contentment in their married life.

Step 4: Mutual Respect and Loyalty: The fourth step emphasizes the importance of mutual respect, trust, and loyalty, promising to uphold these virtues throughout your journey together.

Indian wedding bride dress inspiration light bright colors

Step 5: Cultivating Family Values: The fifth step emphasizes your commitment to upholding traditional family values, such as respecting elders, supporting parents, and nurturing a loving environment.

Step 6: Shared Responsibilities: The sixth step represents your promise to share responsibilities and work together to build a secure and prosperous future together.

Step 7: Eternal Union: The final step symbolizes your eternal bond, affirming their commitment to stand by each other, and support each other’s spiritual and personal growth.

Hotel Fontainebleau images Beach bride dress ideas

Modern Relevance of Saptapadi:

While the rituals and customs may have evolved, the core values remain steadfast. The Saptapadi encourages you as a bride to embrace equality, trust, and mutual respect, fostering a strong foundation for a successful marriage. It serves as a gentle reminder of the sacred vows made during the wedding ceremony, inspiring you are your fiancée to honor and cherish their commitment throughout their married life. For the purposes of Indian wedding photography and videography, I would recommend that you do the saptapadi while standing rather than sitting. It is just looks better on wedding video and photography.

seven steps ceremony element Indian wedding bride dress inspiration light bright colors